Awards Professional of the Year

Professional of the Year

Distinguished Professional of the Year

(formerly Virginia Nurseryman of the Year)

You are invited to submit a nomination for the Distinguished Professional of the Year. This award is given by the Virginia Nursery and Landscape Association to honor a member of our green industry.*

The selection criteria is based equally on a candidate who has spent their career promoting and advancing the green industry. This individual is selected on the basis of long term contributions to the local and/or state organizations of Nursery and Landscape Associations.

A committee of previous recipients of this award, along with approval of the VNLA Executive Committee, make the final selection. The winner will be introduced at our Annual Membership meeting.

The person you nominate must be a VNLA member or work for a VNLA member company. A previous recipient of the prestigious award is eligible again after five years.

Call or email the VNLA office to request a nomination form: 804 256 2700


2022 Greg Miller

Previous Recipients

2021 No recipient

2020 No recipient

2019 Wes Bray

2018 No recipient

2017 No recipient

2016 Howard Saunders

2015 No recipient

2014 Paul Saunders

2013 Robert Warhurst

2012 Dr. Holly Scoggins

2011 Dr. Roger Harris

2010 Duane Shumaker

2009 Robert Wright

2008 Joel Koci

2007 Fred Duis

2006 No recipient

2005 Doug Hensel

2004 Mary Williams

2003 Tscharner Watkins III

2002 John Tankard

2001 Carville Akehurst

2000 Bob Papetti

1999 Jim Snyder

1998 Elizabeth Gardner

1997 No recipient

1996 Tom Saunders

1995 Butch Gaddy

1994 Eddie Anderson

1993 Wayne Sawyer

1992 No recipient

1991 Danny Shreckhise

1990 Jeff B. Miller

1989 C. Fletcher Flemer, III

1988 Karen Shipp Kelly

1987 John Watkins

1986 John Machen, Sr.

1985 No recipient

1984 No recipient

1983 Charles Parkerson

1982 Ennion S. Williams, Jr.

1981 No recipient

1980 No recipient

1979 No recipient

1978 Mrs. Thelma Yeatts

1977 No recipient

1976 James S. Campbell

1975 Art Lancaster

1974 Samuel D. Tankard, Jr.

1973 A.J. Shoosmith

1972 David E. Laird, Jr.

1971 Daniel Capper

1970 David E. Laird, Sr.

Thank you for reading!